Home About Out and About Events

Mary Chamberlain (Chair)

Mary is a Director of Evaluation Associates and a respected education consultant. Ms Chamberlain has led the development of key educational initiatives within the Ministry of Education, for the OECD and throughout the sector. Her leadership of the creation of the New Zealand Curriculum, as well as National Standards for literacy and mathematics, positions Ms Chamberlain to provide critical insights into the development of an approach to progress and achievement.

Charles Darr

Charles is a senior researcher and manager of the Assessment, Design, and Reporting team at the New Zealand Council for Educational Research. Mr Darr led the project team that developed the Literacy and Numeracy for Adults Assessment Tool and the psychometric programme that supported the development of the Progress and Consistency Tool (PaCT). His content knowledge will help inform the development of a robust progress approach. Mr Darr is also on the NCEA Ministerial Advisory Group. 

Laura Hawksworth

Laura is the Principal of Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Tōku Māpihi Maurea. She is a leading tumuaki in Māori medium and has successfully lead Tōku Māphi Maurea for a significant period of time. Ms Hawksworth has contributed to the development of Te Marautanga o Aotearoa and is a lead practitioner in the use of Te Waharoa Ararau (Māori medium equivalent of the Progress and Consistency Tool (PaCT)), and in particular in pāngaru (mathematics). 

Professor Margie Hohepa

Margie is the Associate Dean, Māori at the University of Waikato, where she teaches in Māori education undergraduate and graduate courses. Her iwi are Te Māhurehure, Ngāpuhi and Te Ātiawa. Professor Hohepa has taught in primary school and kōhanga reo settings. Her field of research is also Māori education, framed by Kaupapa Māori, with a particular interest in Māori medium education. Recent research projects have focused on Māori medium initial teacher education and on kōhanga-kura transitions. 

Sonia Johnston

Sonia is the Principal of Roscommon School and is an Executive member of the Graduate Diploma in Teaching English in Schools to Speakers of Other Languages programme at Auckland University, President of Manurewa Principal’s Association 2018 and an active member of New Zealand Pasifika Principals Association (NZPPA). Ms Johnston has also presented on the topics of Pasifika education and bilingual education. 

Rangimarie Mahuta

Rangimarie is a longstanding lead practitioner at Te Wharekura O Rakaumanga School. In her kura, she leads work in understanding progress and achievement across the kura from years 1 to 13. Ms Mahuta has contributed to the development of Te Marautanga o Aotearoa, NCEA qualification design, development and implementation; and is highly respected by her colleagues within the Māori medium sector. As a fundamental part of her community, Ms Mahuta is often asked to consider how our education system should be more considerate of local knowledge and stories and how these should be incorporated into school and local curriculum development and implementation. 

Sarah Martin

Sarah is the Foundation Principal of Stonefields School in Auckland. Ms Martin has taught in, and held, various senior leadership positions. Her facilitation work includes the numeracy project and curriculum exemplar development. Ms Martin’s practice focuses on the integration of inquiry learning, e-learning, future school environments, competencies and teacher effectiveness. 

Hineihaea Murphy

Hineihaea is a trained secondary Māori language teacher with more than 30 years’ experience in Māori language education. Her iwi are Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Kahungunu and Ngāti Apa. In addition to managing a number of national Māori language and education projects, Hineihaea has held statutory management roles as Commissioner, Limited Statutory Manager or Specialist Advisor supporting boards of trustees in English-medium and Māori-medium schools. Hineihaea has been and continues to be a key contributor to the development of Te Marautanga o Aotearoa.

Liam Rutherford

Liam is a teacher at Ross Intermediate School. He has been involved with a number of projects including the introduction of 1:1 devices. Mr Rutherford has an interest in internet based classrooms, personalising learning, student activism and real life learning. He is an active member of the Digital Technologies and Hangarau Matihiko (Curriculum) Change and Enablement working group and the National Digital Technologies and Hangarau Matihiko curriculum implementation professional learning and development allocation panel. Mr Rutherford is the primary representative on the National Executive of the NZEI. 

Associate Professor Claire Sinnema

Claire is an Associate Professor of University of Auckland who has carried out multiple national evaluations, including of the implementation of New Zealand’s National Curriculum (2010), and of the Teacher-Led Innovation Fund (2017). Associate Professor Sinnema has served on numerous reference, advisory and expert groups for national education bodies and has carried out research and development related to Government initiatives in New Zealand, South Australia, Wales and Norway. 

Distinguished Professor Graham Hingangaroa Smith

Graham is a Māori education thought leader at Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi and is current Principal Investigator of Te Pae Tawhiti: Māori Economic Development. His iwi are Ngāti Apa, Ngāti Kahungunu, Kai Tahu and Ngāti Porou. Professor Smith has been the CEO and Vice Chancellor of Te Whare Wānanga O Awanuiārangi: Indigenous-University. 

Professor Jeff Smith

Jeff is Professor and Associate Dean (Research) in the College of Education at the University of Otago. For 29 years he was on the faculty of Rutgers University, serving as professor and chair of the Department of Educational Psychology. Professor Smith has written or edited eight books on educational assessment and statistics, the psychology of aesthetics, and educational psychology, and published more than 70 research articles and reviews in the field of education, also founding and co-editing a journal, Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts. 

Diane Whyte

Diane is the Principal of Fairhaven (Special) School in Hawke’s Bay, an educationally inclusive school that caters to a variety of students from a range of cultural backgrounds and diverse needs. Ms Whyte is the Treasurer of the Special Education Principals’ Association NZ (SEPANZ) and has previously been the Principal of Maitai Special School in Nelson.